dynajae.blogg.se

Norton Goback 4.0
Norton Goback 4.0












Norton Goback 4.0

This was easy, so I decided I'd do the same thing on the family computer. Determined not to let this happen again, I bought a new work computer with dual HDs and RAID capability on the motherboard, and set up disk mirroring (RAID 1). The crashed work-D drive turned out to have mechanical problems and a data recovery firm after several attempts pronounced the data unrecoverable. OK, I know now I should have realized the system was flaky and backed up all my data. That didn't help at first, but after a couple of restarts the system booted and everything seemed back to normal. A splash screen would flash past, then I'd get a message saying "reboot and select proper boot device." I reinstalled family-D in its original location. To my surprise, the family computer would no longer boot, even though I'd done nothing to the bootable C drive ("family-C"). While attempting to diagnose the problem I swapped work-D with the D drive on the family computer ("family-D"). Then last August my work computer's D drive ("work-D") died. I installed a second HD, thinking I might use it for backup, but never got around to actually doing this. However - important point - I also didn't precede all this by wiping the drive or using FDISK /mbr to reload the master boot record, which I now believe was a significant omission.Īnyway, the computer worked fine and was in regular use for most of 2006. Frustrated, I decided I'd start all over again, reloading the the original files using the emergency recovery disks. If I tried pressing the spacebar to disable GB, I'd get a message saying GB was already disabled. During boot, GB would display a message saying the system was unstable (or something like that) and that it was restarting, a process that would repeat indefinitely. Something went wrong after that the system wouldn't boot. In early January 2006 I tried to disable GB by pressing the spacebar during the GB splash screen on bootup.

Norton Goback 4.0

That done, I installed Norton GoBack 4.0 ("GB"), thinking that if problems arose in the future, I'd simply revert to an earlier system state. I suspected malware and decided I'd offload all the data, reload the original files using the "emergency recovery" CDs that came with the system, then reload the files. The kids use it to play online games, and over time operation had become erratic - the system locked up during gameplay, etc. It contains the (large) family photo archive, music collection (also large), the kids' schoolwork, and the family checkbook. The family computer (I have a separate computer at home for work) is a Pentium IV-3GHz, 1GB RAM, 120GB HD, Windows XP Pro (PowerSpec model 9340).














Norton Goback 4.0